Friday, April 17, 2015

Book Review: Heartless (The Parasol Protectorate #4) by Gail Carriger

Heartless by Gail Carriger 

Heartless (The Parasol Protectorate #4)
by Gail Carriger
Rating: http://mochadad.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/five-stars.png

Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8356487-heartless

#steampunk #gailcarriger #victorian

Recommended for: Fans of Ms. Carriger, Victorian England, or the Steampunk genre
Read from March 29 to April 17, 2015 — I own a copy, read count: 1

Heartless by Gail Carriger was a rip-roaring, side-splitting good time, to be sure. It is crazy how much can happen in such a short time when Gail Carriger is organizing the plot. And to think that it all went down while Alexia was 8-months pregnant made it all the more comical.

I absolutely adore this series, and this book was oodles and oodles of fun. And talk about world-shaking shifts in the Carriger universe! This book is fraught with incidents which are causing the the stars to align for some massive changes in the final installment (which I plan to begin reading as soon as I finish writing this review!) And there were a number of strings left hanging, so I am curious to see how she will tie them all up.

What will happen with Madame Lefoux and Quensel now that they are where they are (no spoilers)?

What will Ivy and Tunstell do now that they are/have returning/returned from Scotland?

How will the wolf pack adjust/adapt to their new situation (no spoilers)?

How will Lady Maccon, Lord Maccon, and Lord Akeldama adjust/adapt to their new role as parents?

And what the heck is happening with little Miss Prudence and her special abilities? (Can't wait to get to the new spin-off series, Prudence, after I finish reading Timeless).

Gosh, this series is so amazing! I cannot gush enough about how much I am absolutely enamored by the world that Gail Carriger has created. The historical accuracy is fascinating, the characters are delightful, and the witty banter is sheer perfection, the best I've ever read!

Gail Carriger makes reading enjoyable. Her books call to me, and no matter what else I'm doing, I almost always would rather be reading her books. I know that I still have 4 books, (Timeless, Prudence, Imprudence, and Manners & Mutiny), and one novella, (The Curious Case of the Werewolf That Wasn't, the Mummy That Was, and the Cat in the Jar), left to read, but I am already getting sad at seeing the end in sight. I hope Ms. Carriger continues to write forever so that there will always be one of her wonderful books on my TBR list!

If you have not read her work, you must! You will enjoy them immensely!

No comments:

Post a Comment